top of page

Search Results

3 items found for ""

  • Visions for New Heavens on Earth! | PluriverSofia

    Inviting Artists, Activists, Theologians, preachers and justice seekers Location Zoom Meeting ID: 832 5766 8663 Passcode: 957130 Project culmination December 22, 2022 6 PM Central Time Share Artist-theologians share their visions of the new heavens and new earth! Taking a cue from Revelation 21, these individuals share their visions through visual art, song, speech, poetry, musical performance, body movement, digital storytelling and dialogue. Join in imagining a divine and justice-filled future. Visions for New Heavens on Earth In the Anthropocene Earth is a living organism balancing life through plagues and hurricanes. The pandemic of Covid-19 felt like an apocalypse, the end of life as we knew it. With Covid-19 now endemic, the emergence of other plagues, and the increased number of deadly hurricanes, now is the perfect time to imagine new futures, rehearse them in the present, and bring about a new reality in community. Pluriversofia.net features artists-activists-theologians, who joined in drawing on sacred traditions and sciences to craft and share new imaginations. Will there be dragons and beasts, pregnant ladies, golden lampstands, and sealed scrolls? Will there be cars, trains, and spaceships, cloning, in vitro, solar panels, and encrypted emails? Join us December 22, 2022 at 6pm Central Time to find out.

  • Home | PluriverSofia

    Pluriversofia provides time-place for communal healing form oppressive systems and rehearse a different future. Pluriversofia provee tiempo-espacio para sanar en comunidad de sistemas opresivos y ensayar un futuro diferente. Ven a PluriverSofia Un universo donde caben muchos universos. Un espacio que celebra muchas sabidurías. Come to PluriverSofia A universe that welcomes many universes. A space that celebrates many wisdoms. Pluriverse + Sofia = PluriverSofia ​ Pluriverse – the idea that there are more than one or two kinds of ultimate realities; a plurality of universes; from pluralism : “a state of society in which members of diverse ethnic, racial, religious, or social groups maintain and develop their traditional culture or special interest within the confines of a common civilization” ​ Sofia – knowledge or wisdom ​ We must be purposed in taking time to refresh, rejuvenate, and restore. Our holistic wellbeing is an act of resistance against the evil powers of human exploitation. PluriverseSofia is a destination of endless possibilities with no boundaries. A place where we can exercise our imagination bringing our authentic selves into a community that is co-created to embrace the diversity of humanity. Here we open our beings to discover the greatness that the Divine Life Force has available for us. Divine Wisdom is all around us. Join us to find Her!

  • Blank Page | PluriverSofia

    PLAY and REST at Rivers of Life! Registration Program Facilitators Platform Sofia's Theme Park: Rivers of Life 2022 is a space for rest, renewal, and spiritual direction to nourish your inner child and be intimate with Divine Wisdom. The retreat begins and ends with playful worship services! Each day, participants will engage in individual and communal spiritual practices, the serious work of play, reflection, improvisation, movement, imagination, fellowship, interaction with biblical stories, and ongoing vocational discernment. It is summer, a great time to refresh your spirituality at Rivers of Life ! June 10, 5:40 PM CT to June 11, 5:40 PM CT Detailed Program Registration is now open! Please, register by June 4. Registration fee: $72 Early bird registration fee: $54 Register by May 27 to receive a resource package with guidelines for individual contemplative practices, and art supplies for specific communal spiritual practices that we will do during the retreat. ​ Register Now! EARLY BIRD FEE ONLY $54 IF YOUR REGISTER BY MAY 27 Goals and Objectives The main goals are to rest and play! During the retreat, participants will be able to: Play as a way of resting Nurture their spirituality while learning, actively and intentionally moving and listening to their bodies Reflect on images of life from scripture Examine their approaches to ministry and their true self Enjoy fellowship Register Now! Detailed Program Friday, June 10 3:30 PM Pacific / 5:30 PM CST / 6:30 PM EST and PR Check in to your place of rest. Situate yourself. 3:40 PM Pacific / 5:40 PM CST / 6:40 PM EST and PR Open plenary : Ice Breaking games (30 mins.) Opening worship (30 mins) – Creative ways of co-creating worship through playing games and other engaging and imaginative practices, as we focus our attention on the Creator of the rivers of life and the Divine Source of our lives. 4:40 PM Pacific / 6:40 PM CST / 7:40 PM EST and PR BREAK: Rest, Reflect, Rest, Relax, Rest, Recreate… 5:00 PM Pacific / 7:00 PM CST / 8:00 PM EST and PR Virtual Campfire and Book Conversations Imagine that we gather by the Missouri River at night. Sit around the fire with your fellow campers to share mythical stories and recent struggles to keep the water safe from the black snake. Join the tribe of water protectors. 6:00 PM Pacific / 8:00 PM CST / 9:00 PM EST and PR BREAK: Rest, Reflect, Rest, Relax, Rest, Recreate… Saturday, June 11 7:30 AM Pacific / 9:30 AM CST / 10:30 AM EST and PR Visio Divina in Community (30 mins.) How divine is to observe the beauty of the rivers! Engage this ancient monastic practice with a modern twist, praying through observing a work of art, this time in Community. Whimsical Waters 1 (30 mins.) – Ongoing vocational discernment and spiritual practices, testing play and imagination as pedagogical strategies. Temporary Waters : Join us as we journey to the wadi to ponder what happens when the waters provide temporary respite. 8:30 AM Pacific / 10:30 AM CST / 11:30 AM EST and PR BREAK: Rest, Reflect, Rest, Relax, Rest, Recreate… 9:00 AM Pacific / 11:00 AM CST / 12:00 PM EST and PR Close Encounters with Rivers of Life 1 (90 mins. with two 5-min. breaks) – Imaginative interactions with stories from scripture. 9:00/11:00/12:00 Lis Valle Genesis 2:8-14 The River of Eden : Meet Crystal as she remembers the creation story and invites you to be like a “Crystal-clear” river, both transparent and reflective. 9:30/11:30/12:30 Elisabel Ruiz 2 Kings 5:1-16 (Español) The healing Jordan River : Meet the young girl from Israel who served Naaman’s wife as she recounts the story of Naaman’s healing. Will you let God surprise you in unusual ways? 10:00/12:00/1:00 Tiffany Trent Ezekiel 47:3-12 The River from the Temple : Meet a young servant girl who witnessed Ezekiel’s vision and the waters that make everything live. 10:30 AM Pacific / 12:30 PM CST / 1:30 PM EST and PR Whimsical Waters 2 (60 mins. with a 5-mins. break) – Ongoing vocational discernment and spiritual practices, testing play and imagination as pedagogical strategies. River and Shore : In this game, come play on the riverbank and find the divine on both sides of the boundary. Baptismal Waters : In his activity of contemplative art-making, baptize your dreams and witness how they turn into works of art. ​ 11:30 AM Pacific / 1:30 PM CST / 2:30 PM EST and PR BREAK: Rest, Reflect, Rest, Relax, Rest, Recreate… 12:30 PM Pacific / 2:30 PM CST / 3:30 PM EST and PR Close Encounters with Rivers of Life 2 (90 mins. with two 5-min. breaks) – Imaginative interactions with stories from scripture. 12:30/2:30/3:30 Nancy H. Parker Psalm 1 Streams of Water : Meet a date tree firmly planted by streams of water, which will help you reflect on nature as a sanctuary and how you are planted, nourished, belonging, and fruitful. 1:00/3:00/4:00 Immanuel Karunakaran Mark 1:4-5 Jordan River : Meet John the Baptist, preparing the way for Jesus. How are you preparing the way for Jesus? How are you doing prophetic work? 1:30/3:30/4:30 Elba Nazario Revelations 22:1-2 (Español) River of the Water of Life : Meet this river as she tells the stories of things that were and things to come, restoration, waters that nurture fruit, and healing leaves. 2:00 PM Pacific / 4:00 PM CST / 5:00 PM EST and PR BREAK: Rest, Reflect, Rest, Relax, Rest, Recreate… 2:10 PM Pacific / 4:10 PM CST / 5:10 PM EST and PR Sharing (30 mins.) Closing plenary : communal reflection and evaluation (20 mins) Break (10 mins.) Closing worship (30 mins) – Creative ways of co-creating worship through playing games and other engaging and imaginative practices, co-preaching, and re-imagining sacramental eating in the Childom of God. 3:40 PM Pacific / 5:40 PM CST / 6:40 PM EST and PR ¡Adiós! Register Now! Meet The Facilitators Elba I. Nazario Reverend, Chaplain, McCormick alum, former member of the Board of Directors of McCormick Theological Seminary, and actress. Elisabel Ruiz-Quirós Reverend, retired minister, playwright, actress, artistic director, community builder, expert in game facilitation and fundraising, and provider of pastoral care for home-bound elders. Immanuel Karunakaran Reverend, Ordained Minister of Tamil Evangelical Lutheran Church, India, McCormick alum, PhD student at LSTC, activist, artist, pastor, trained folk musician, photographer, dancer, theater jack-of-all-trades, and black belt holder in martial arts Joanne Lindstrom Reverend, Doctor in Ministry, Pastor, Director of Experiential Education and Field Studies, and Associate Professor of Ministry at McCormick Theological Seminary. Lis Valle Reverend, PhD, Assistant Professor of Homiletics and Liturgics at McCormick Theological Seminary, playwright, actress, artistic director, designer of creative liturgies and communal healing rituals, educator and playful scholartivist. Nancy H. Parker Reverend, Pastor of Young Adults at West End United Methodist Church and Director of Vanderbilt Wesley Fellowship, actress, singer, playwright, and expert in spiritual formation. Tiffany Trenton Tiffany Trent is Chair & Associate Professor of theatre & dance at Middle Tennessee State University. Her artistic and scholarly practices encompass theatre & performance studies primarily in contexts of justice work and faith practice, particularly with youth, and how the arts connect to citizenship, self, and culture. Register Now! About the Platform You will receive the information for joining the zoom meeting once you register.

bottom of page